top of page

Dee Evans Chair Jackson County Democratic Committee

After her unanimous election Tuesday, Dee Evans becomes the Chairwoman of the Jackson County Democratic Committee after the tragic news of the passing of Chairman Paul Wrabec. She will be the first African American woman to serve in this capacity on the committee.

Dee has served as Vice Chair of the committee and Chair of the Truman Gala starting in 2016, then reelected in 2018 and 2020. She has been a Jackson County Committee member since 1998 when first elected as the 2nd ward (Kansas City) committeewoman for Jackson County.

She received the Harry S Truman Award recognizing a Democrat who is committed to grass roots political efforts and advancing the goals of the Democratic Party. Her passion and commitment as committeewoman include voter education and ensuring democrats understand the importance of voting.

You will often hear her say, “this is what I do” and although retired, she rarely ever says no to helping the community. She is also a member of the Missouri Democratic Party and Freedom, Inc.

The current Jackson County Democratic Committee Executive committee members are Tom Wyrsch, Vice Chair, Gail McCain Beatty, Secretary, John (Coach) Comstock, Treasurer, and Shellie Montemurro, Historian. A parliamentarian will be appointed by the chair. Forrest Richardson has also been hired as the new Executive Director of the JCDC.

Recent Posts

See All

2024 Delegate Selection Information

These meetings are to elect delegates to the state convention that will take place on Saturday June 22nd in Columbia MO, and to the congressional level meetings that will take place in May. Mass Meeti


bottom of page